Becoming a Wounded Healer: My Story Through Abuse

“Nobody escapes being wounded. We all are wounded people, whether physically, emotionally, mentally, or spiritually. The main question is not “How can we hide our wounds?” so we don’t have to be embarrassed, but “How can we put our woundedness in the service of others?” When our wounds cease to be a source of shame, and become a source of healing, we have become wounded healers. Jesus is God’s wounded healer: through his wounds we are healed. Jesus’ suffering and death brought joy and life. His humiliation brought glory; his rejection brought a community of love. As followers of Jesus we can also allow our wounds to bring healing to others.”

– Henri Nouwen, The Wounded Healer

For many years, I lived my life in answer to the question, “How can I hide my wounds?” The things that happened in my past were too painful to process, and too scary to share. Although shame was not my burden to bear, I was weighed down by its reality.

More recently, I have been asking myself, “How can I put my woundedness in the service of others?” This is a fundamental shift in response to years of processing with prayer and tears. It is in this spirit that I want to share more of my story. I am hoping that as I cast off the shame, my wounds may become a source of healing.

What follows will be a gradually released seven-part series detailing events in my past, and the path I have been on towards healing. Names have been changed. With forgiveness, there is no room for revenge or retaliation. These posts are intended to bring light into darkness, and perspective into confusion. They are not intended to target anyone, including the perpetrators.

Leave a Reply

